888.454.7015

Mehr über Doris Colgate(24A)_6.2_MoreABoutDorisColgate_700x465

Wenn Doris trat der Werbeabteilung der Yachting Magazine in 1967, sie war noch nicht ein Seemann. "Alle um mich herum kam am Montagmorgen gegerbt, lächelnd und beschwingt, alles wegen Segeln,", Berichtet. Doris fragte sie, Mitarbeiter, wohin sie gehen zu segeln lernen, er sagte Offshore Sailing School, und der Rest ist Geschichte. In 1969, heiratete Gründer der Schule, Steve Colgate, und "die Schule,", Sagt sie. In 1970 Doris trat dem Unternehmen in Vollzeit als Vizepräsident, stieg auf Präsident in 1978, und wurde Präsident und CEO in 2001.

Segeln ihr Leben verändert

Segeln eröffnet eine Welt der Abenteuer für Doris. Sie hat Verantwortung mit Steve geteilt (30)_6.2_MoreAboutDorisColgate_Sleuth_700x465in der Nähe von führenden ein 100 Flottille Kreuzfahrten für Absolventen aller Welt. Wenn die Colgates kauften ihre 54 'Ocean Racer, Spürhund, Doris schwor, sie würde auf jedem Rennen gehen - fehlt eine Transatlantic und das '79 Fastnet Race. Zwei Jahre später, wenn Sleuth kehrte in Cowes auf der Isle of Wight für eine weitere Woche der intensiven racing, die ihren Höhepunkt in der Fastnet Race von Cowes nach Plymouth, "Wir hatten sehr wenig Wind, im Gegensatz zu den 85+ Knoten Steve erlebt zwei Jahre zuvor,", Sagt sie. Immer, wenn sie jetzt bekommen können entfernt, die Colgates Kopf bis zu den Britischen Jungferninseln oder andere Stück vom Paradies zu kreuzen.

Eine Leidenschaft für Frauen und Jugend Segeln

In 1990, Doris founded the National Women’s Sailing Association (NWSA)mehr erstellen (25)_6.2_MoreABoutDorisColgate_YouCanSailEscape_700x465Bewusstsein für Segeln bei Frauen und Hilfe Frauen bauen Vertrauen in ihre Segelkenntnisse. Im selben Jahr stellte sie "You Can Escapes Sail", um alle Frauen-Trainingsprogramme durch Offshore Sailing School bieten.

In 1991, Doris launched AdventureSail – a mentoring program for at-risk girls. In 1997, she established the Women’s Sailing Foundation (WSF), eine Non-Profit-Organisation, die sich um das Leben von Frauen und Mädchen durch Bildung und den Zugang zu den Segelsport Verbesserung. Zu Recht ist ein AdventureSail Veranstaltung in Oakland, CA für gefährdete Mädchen, mit US Sailing Paralympischen Trainer, Betsy Allison, Unterricht Mädchen, wie zu steuern.

Das Ruder übernehmen Seminare für Frauen(26)_6.2_MoreAboutDorisColgate_NWSA_AdventureSail_700x465

Seit acht Jahren, Doris organisiert und durchgeführt mehrtägige NWSA Seminare für Frauen, in erster Linie auf Segelboot-Shows in Chicago, Oakland, Atlantic City und Annapolis. Genannt das Ruder übernehmen, diese Ereignisse angezogen Frauen und ihre Ehepartner / Lebenspartner mit Vorträgen von Platten der Frauen, die lange Strecken mit ihren Familien gesegelt, Workshops zu Motor und Winden Wartung, Knotenkunde Sitzungen, und inspirierende Keynotes von Frauen, die den Segel Lebensstil. In der Spitze, Das Ruder übernehmen Seminare hatten 800 Matrosen besucht in einem einzigen Ereignis

Programme für die Mittelschule für Kinder(28)_6.2_MoreABoutDorisColgate_Take_The_Helm_Seminars_AC_3_700x465

Nicht mehr aktiv mit NWSA / außer WSF beteiligt sich auf seine Beratenden Ausschusses sein, Doris können gerne berichten, dass beide Organisationen sind noch stark mit kontinuierlicher Führung von gewidmet Frauen, die Segel. Aber ihr Interesse daran, Kinder segeln in einem frühen Alter geht weiter. In 2013, Doris Aufbau einer Team-Building und lernen, Programm für die Cypress See-Sekundarschule in Ft Sail. Myers, Florida. Diese fortlaufende Ereignis eintritt jedes Jahr im Juli, Einführung Segeln für Jungen und Mädchen mit dem Schwerpunkt auf das Lernen, wie man erfolgreich auf dem Wasser zusammenarbeiten.

Auf der Rede Kreis

Am 2011 Frauen Sailing Conference in Marblehead, Massachusetts, Doris ergab einen (29)_6.2_MoreAboutDorisColgate_NWSAConference_700x465inspirierend Grundsatzrede bis 125 Frauen, die in der 10. Konferenz des Nationalen Frauen Sailing Foundation durchgeführt teilnahmen, das war auch feiert seinen 21. Jahrestag. She has been a key speaker at several International Sailing Summit (ISS) Geschehen, und wird oft gebeten, über ihre Erfahrungen bei Segeln Yacht-Club und an anderen Orten zu sprechen.

Ein Unternehmer durch und durch

Für 15 Jahre, Doris auch im Besitz und lief Einzelhandelsgeschäfte bei Offshore Sailing School Standorte. Genannt On und Offshore, ihr "Einzelhandelsspitzen" sie und Steve im Besitz fünf Geschäfte in Neapel und Captiva Island, FL vor dem Verkauf, dass die Firma zu einem freundlichen Wettbewerber. Als Käufer, Doris konzentrierte sich auf Freizeitkleidung, Bademode, Schuhwerk, Segeln Bekleidung und Geschenke für Männer und Frauen; Kinderkleidung und Geschenke zu.

Service, Anerkennungen und Auszeichnungen(31)_6.2_MoreAboutDorisColgate_Leadership award_700x465

In 1994, Doris erhielt Betty Cook Memorial Lifetime Achievement Award Boating Magazine und Internationaler Frauentag in Bootfahren für ihre Arbeit in der Schifffahrtsindustrie. In 2004, Doris received the Leadership in Women’s Sailing Award sponsored by BOAT U.S. und NWSA.

Für ihr Buch SEGELN: A Woman Handbuch, veröffentlicht am 1999 von Ragged Mountain Press / McGraw Hill, Doris erhielt die 1999 Southam Award in the book category.

Im April 2014, Doris wurde vorge Grandeur Magazin. Sie ist im Who is Who von Amerika aufgeführt, Who is Who der amerikanischen Frauen, Who is Who in der Südost-, Who is Who in der Bildung, Who is Who in Finance and Who is Who der Welt. Ein Mitglied der Royal Ocean Racing Club und ehemaliger Vorsitzender des Handelsausschusses Segelschule für US Sailing, in 2014 die sie von den Ruhestand 17 Jahren auf dem BOATU.S. National Advisory Council. Doris war Mitglied des Board of Directors der Sail Amerika, das Segelbranchenverband, von 2000-2006, war auf Marketing Committee Sail Amerikas seit vielen Jahren und ist derzeit auf Handelssegelschule Marketing Committee US Sailing.

Kontaktinformationen

Um zu sprechen Doris rufen Sie bitte 888-454-7015 oder ihre direkten Draht zu 239-985-7511 oder E-Mail Doris@OffshoreSailing.com.

Erfahren Sie Mehr

Anruf 888-454-7015 oder 239-454-1700
E-Mail Sail@OffshoreSailing.com

More About Doris Colgate(24A)_6.2_MoreABoutDorisColgate_700x465

When Doris joined the advertising department of Yachting Magazine in 1967, she was not yet a sailor. “Everyone around me came in on Monday mornings tanned, smiling and exhilarated, all because of sailing,” she reports. Doris asked her co-workers where to go to learn to sail, he said Offshore Sailing School, and the rest is history. In 1969, she married the school’s founder, Steve Colgate, and “the school,” she says. In 1970 Doris joined the business full time as Vice President, rose to President in 1978, and became President and CEO in 2001.

Sailing Changed Her Life

Sailing opened a world of adventures for Doris. She has shared responsibilities with Steve (30)_6.2_MoreAboutDorisColgate_Sleuth_700x465in leading close to a 100 flotilla cruises for graduates all over the world. When the Colgates bought their 54’ ocean racer, Sleuth, Doris vowed she would go on every race – missing one TransAtlantic and the ’79 Fastnet Race. Two years later when Sleuth returned to Cowes on the Isle of Wight for another week of intense racing, culminating in the Fastnet Race from Cowes to Plymouth, “we had very light wind, unlike the 85+ knots Steve experienced two years earlier,” she says. Whenever they can get away now, the Colgates head to the British Virgin Islands or another slice of paradise to cruise.

A Passion for Women and Youth Sailing

In 1990, Doris founded the National Women’s Sailing Association (NWSA) to create more (25)_6.2_MoreABoutDorisColgate_YouCanSailEscape_700x465awareness of sailing among women and help women build confidence in their sailing skills. That same year she introduced “You Can Sail Escapes” to provide all-women training programs through Offshore Sailing School.

In 1991, Doris launched AdventureSail – a mentoring program for at-risk girls. In 1997, she established the Women’s Sailing Foundation (WSF), a not-for-profit organization dedicated to enhancing the lives of women and girls through education and access to the sport of sailing. At right is an AdventureSail event in Oakland, CA for at-risk girls, with US Sailing Paralympic coach, Betsy Allison, teaching girls how to steer.

Take The Helm Seminars for Women(26)_6.2_MoreAboutDorisColgate_NWSA_AdventureSail_700x465

For eight years, Doris organized and conducted multi-day NWSA seminars for women, primarily held at sailboat shows in Chicago, Oakland, Atlantic City and Annapolis. Called Take The Helm, these events attracted women and their spouses/significant others with presentations by panels of women who had sailed long distances with their families, workshops focusing on engine and winch maintenance, knot-tying sessions, and inspiring keynote speeches from women who live the sailing lifestyle. At their peak, Take The Helm Seminars had 800 sailors attending in a single event

Programs for Middle School Kids(28)_6.2_MoreABoutDorisColgate_Take_The_Helm_Seminars_AC_3_700x465

No longer actively involved with NWSA/WSF other than to be on its Advisory Committee, Doris can happily report that both organizations are going strong with continuous leadership from dedicated women who sail. But her interest in getting kids sailing at an early age goes on. In 2013, Doris set up a Team Building and Learn to Sail program for the Cypress Lake Middle School in Ft. Myers, Florida. This on-going event occurs each July, introducing sailing to boys and girls with emphasis on learning how to successfully work together on the water.

On the Speaking Circuit

At the 2011 Women’s Sailing Conference in Marblehead, Massachusetts, Doris gave an (29)_6.2_MoreAboutDorisColgate_NWSAConference_700x465inspiring keynote speech to 125 women who were participating in the 10th Conference conducted by the National Women’s Sailing Foundation, which was also celebrating its 21st anniversary. She has been a key speaker at several International Sailing Summit (ISS) events, and is often asked to speak about her sailing experiences at yacht club and other venues.

An Entrepreneur Through and Through

For 15 years, Doris also owned and ran retail stores at Offshore Sailing School locations. Called On and Offshore, at her “retail peak” she and Steve owned five stores in Naples and Captiva Island, FL before selling that company to a friendly competitor. As the buyer, Doris focused on resort wear, swimwear, footwear, sailing apparel and gifts for men and women; kids clothes and gifts too.

Service, Recognitions and Awards(31)_6.2_MoreAboutDorisColgate_Leadership award_700x465

In 1994, Doris received the Betty Cook Memorial Lifetime Achievement Award from Boating Magazine and International Women in Boating for her work in the marine industry. In 2004, Doris received the Leadership in Women’s Sailing Award sponsored by BOATU.S. and NWSA.

For her book SAILING: A Woman’s Guide, published January 1999 by Ragged Mountain Press/McGraw Hill, Doris received the 1999 Southam Award in the book category.

In April 2014, Doris was featured in Grandeur Magazine. She is listed in Who’s Who of America, Who’s Who of American Women, Who’s Who in the Southeast, Who’s Who in Education, Who’s Who in Finance and Who’s Who of the World. A member of the Royal Ocean Racing Club and former chairman of the Commercial Sailing School Committee for US Sailing, in 2014 she retired from 17 years on the BOATU.S. National Advisory Council. Doris served as a member of the Board of Directors of Sail America, the sailing industry association, from 2000-2006, was on Sail America’s Marketing Committee for many years and is currently on US Sailing’s Commercial Sailing School Marketing Committee.

Contact Information

To talk to Doris please call 888-454-7015 or her direct line at 239-985-7511 or email Doris@OffshoreSailing.com.

Learn More

Call 888-454-7015 or 239-454-1700
Email Sail@OffshoreSailing.com

Content